Saturday, April 16, 2011

Michael B. Jordan joins Dane DeHaan in teen sci-fi thriller “Chronicle”

Sci-fi thriller “Chronicle” has apparently completed casting on its trio of leads, as Variety reports that relatively unknown young actors Michael B. Jordan and Alex Russell have joined Dane DeHaan in the Fox project.

The story centers around three Portland teenagers who are exposed to a mysterious substance in the woods and subsequently develop superpowers. They begin to work together to hone their new skills but soon find themselves turning on each other. Though Variety doesn’t specify, presumably DeHaan, Jordan and Russell will play the teenagers. Fox bought the Max Landis script last August and Josh Trank, who will be making his directorial debut, will shoot the film documentary style in the vein of “Paranormal Activity” or “Cloverfield”.

Jordan (no relation to that basketball player you may have heard of) was a series regular on the last two seasons of critically acclaimed NBC series “Friday Night Lights” and recently completely filming indie “Red Tails”. Russell only has a few small indies under his belt – mostly in his native Australia, including the buzzy “Wasted on the Young” and shark attack thriller “Bait” opposite “Twilight” star Xavier Samuel. “Chronicle” will mark his American studio debut.


No comments:

Post a Comment